GC Ranked 2nd in the 10th Quality Management Level Research 2018

GC America is pleased to announce the results of the 10th Quality Management Level Research in 2018 conducted by the Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers (JUSE). GC Corporation (the parent company of GC America) was highly evaluated and ranked second. GC is proud to be the only company ranked in the top 10 five times in a row, including a first-place ranking in 2016 and second-place ranking in 2014. Below are top 10 companies from the overall ranking:

  1. Konica Minolta, Inc.
  2. GC Corporation
  3. Canon Inc.
  4. Takenaka Corporation
  5. ROHM Co., Ltd.
  6. Kumagai Gumi Co., Ltd.
  7. Sekisui House, Ltd.
  8. Asahi Group Holdings, Ltd.
  9. Kirin Holdings Company, Ltd.
  10. Ajinomoto Co., Inc.
  11. NEC Corporation

According to the newspaper “The Nikkei Sangyo”, the reasons GC earned a high evaluation high evaluation were that: GC set long-term targets to evaluate its corporate quality, introduced a system to certify Global GQM (GC’s Quality Management) Promoters, and conducted Global Customer Satisfaction Survey. These efforts are highly evaluated as a basis for the corporate quality. In the six major categories listed below, GC received the following high evaluations:

  • Commitment of Top Management (2nd)
  • Dissemination of Quality Management (1st)
  • Cultivation of human resources for realization of quality management (3rd)
  • Establishment and thorough implementation of a process (8th)
  • Creation of customer value (3rd)
  • Collaboration capability among departments (5th)

GC received the “Deming Application Prize” (current Deming Prize) in 2000 and the “Japan Quality Medal” (current Deming Grand Prize), the highest honor of Japan’s Total Quality Management (TQM), in 2004. Other GC companies have earned TQM awards in years past, including GC America Inc., which received the Deming Prize in 2014. Chairman Makoto Nakao received the Deming Prize for Individuals in 2012 for spearheading GC Group’s efforts for promotion of TQM and building it into a global company over thirty years. Furthermore, Chairman Nakao received the “Marcos E.J. Bertin Quality in Governance Medal” from the International Academy for Quality (IAQ) in 2016.