The American Association of Endodontists Honors Seven Individuals at Annual Session

The American Association of Endodontists recognized seven individuals with the organization’s highest honors and awards during its recent 2014 Annual Session in Washington, D.C. Those honored are:

Eddy Skidmore, D.D.S., M.S., received the AAE’s highest honor, the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, given for leadership and exemplary dedication to dentistry and endodontics. Dr. Skidmore has dedicated his professional life, and much of his personal time, to the dental and endodontic communities and to the education of endodontists.

He is an inspiration to his many students, bestowing upon them the value and importance of dental leadership, and his fundraising efforts for the Foundation broke previous fundraising records. He continues to inspire new dentists and endodontists to continue the legacy of leadership.

M. Lamar Hicks, D.D.S, M.S., received the I. B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award, given to a full-time educator of at least 15 years. Since his first appointment in 1975, Dr. Hicks has dedicated nearly four decades of his life to education.

Most recently, he served as a clinical professor at the University of Maryland Dental School.

In his acceptance speech, Dr. Hicks said he didn’t set out to be an educator, but found the quest for learning and desire to serve others exciting and highly motivating. Students and faculty alike admire his selfless and humble nature and willingness to help any student.

Melissa M. Drum, D.D.S., M.S., received the Edward M. Osetek Educator Award, which is presented to a full-time educator with less than 10 years of teaching experience who has earned the esteem and respect of students and faculty associates.

A “teacher of the new millennium,” her peers note that she is not only exceptional at clinical and didactic education, but also at helping instill confidence in students.

“I’m a proud educator,” Dr. Drum said in her acceptance speech. “You can be an educator too. Please consider the best career possible.”

Robert W. Hawkinson, Jr., D.M.D., M.S., received the Part-Time Educator Award recognizing a part-time educator of at least 20 years whose contributions have demonstrated dedication to endodontics and whose valuable contributions have instilled in his students a desire to pursue excellence in their careers.

 He has been instrumental in shaping the UIC endodontic postgraduate program, serving as a member of the candidate review process. Students and faculty alike appreciate his reliability and fairness, as well as his easy-going and approachable attitude. His teaching is marked by friendship, cooperation and genuine relationships.

In accepting the award, Dr. Hawkinson commented, “It’s energizing for me to interact with students seeking clinical excellence, standard of practice and who have the interests of patients at the heart of what we do.”

Jose F. Siqueira, Jr, D.D.S., M.Sc., Ph.D., received the Louis I. Grossman Award recognizing an author for cumulative publication of significant research studies that have made an extraordinary contribution to endodontics. Dr. Siqueira is an author or co-author of 264 scientific papers, seven books and 14 book chapters. He is on the editorial board of the Journal of Oral Microbiology and ENDO – Endodontic Practice Today, and he serves as a reviewer for several other international journals.

He is actively lecturing on endodontics worldwide and currently serves as the chair of endodontics and director of the postgraduate program in endodontics at Estácio de Sá University, in Rio de Janeiro, where he also mentors Ph.D. candidates.

Scott J. Hodges, D.D.S., M.S., received the Lifetime Spirit of Service Award for his commitment to treat the underserved for virtually his entire professional career, from his time as a staff dental officer in the U.S. Public Health Service to the more than 30 dental missions he has led and participated in throughout the globe.

He focuses his service efforts close to home, participating in local and state volunteer work. He recently served as the dental chair of the 2013 Michigan Mission of Mercy.

His compassion, quality of leadership and sincere giving from the heart have benefited the underserved, both locally and globally.

G. Matthew Brock, D.D.S., M.S.D.,
received the New Practitioner Spirit of Service Award for serving his community, educating others and volunteering with various dental groups. Dr. Brock has been involved with the Inner City Ministries Dental Clinic in Chattanooga, Tenn., and donates his time and dental services to other clinics as well. He also invests his time and talents into educating others, conducting lectures for the Tennessee Dental Association and nationwide.

Dr. Brock invests his time and talents in educating others about quality endodontics and helping to provide care to the underserved.

He also chaired the AAE’s distance learning and information technology committees and served on other Association committees, as well as numerous committees on the state and local levels.

For more information on these seven indiviuals, please visit:

About the American Association of Endodontists
The American Association of Endodontists, headquartered in Chicago, Ill., represents more than 7,500 members worldwide. Endodontics is one
of nine dental specialties formally recognized by the American Dental Association. The AAE, founded in 1943, is dedicated to excellence in the art and science of endodontics and to the highest standard of patient care. The Association inspires its members to pursue professional advancement and personal fulfillment through education, research, advocacy, leadership, communication and service. For more information about the AAE, visit the Association’s website at